Skip to main content

 Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

anti-discrimination collage of words

About the Committee

Mission

The mission of the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Committee of the Division of Geriatrics, Gerontology and Palliative Care is to promote a climate of respect, collaboration and inclusion among trainees, staff, faculty and other stakeholders in the Division from all backgrounds, which will promote a sense of belonging and engagement, and allow for all to thrive. 

Goals/Responsibilities

Responsibilities of this committee include the following:

  • Advise Division leadership on matters related to the mission of the committee.
  • Work in close cooperation with other committees within the Division to help on matters related to the mission of the committee.
  • Work in close cooperation with other EDI committees cross-campus to advance the mission of the committee.
  • Specific responsibilities relate to promoting (1) the broad representation of persons from all backgrounds within the Division’s trainees, staff, faculty, and leadership, as well as the patient population served by the Division; (2) the highest level care to persons of all backgrounds served by the Division; (3) the development, implementation and dissemination of rigorous, ethical, and culturally-proficient research across segments of the population served by the Division; and (4) training in cross-cultural science and clinical practice as it relates to the population served by the Division.

Reach Out

This committee is open to collaboration with other committees focused on Accessibility, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion. Feel free to contact one of our members:

Name Email Area

Heather Bruner

hbruner@ucsd.edu

 Palliative Medicine

Alison Moore

alm123@health.ucsd.edu

Geriatric Medicine / Aging Research

Emily Sladek

esladek@health.ucsd.edu

Geriatric Medicine

James Templeman

jtempleman@health.ucsd.edu

Geriatric Medicine

Lina Scandalis

lscandalis@health.ucsd.edu

Gerontology Research

Maria Marquine

mmarquine@health.ucsd.edu

Psychology Research in Minorities

Mariana Romero

mdromero@health.ucsd.edu

Administration / Clinical Trials

Jennifer Reichstadt

jreichstadt@health.ucsd.edu

Administration / Education & Development

Nikki Bergstrom

jbergstrom@health.ucsd.edu

Biostatistics / Research

Veronica Gonzalez

vgonzalez@health.ucsd.edu

Geriatric Medicine

We are forming dedicated workstreams with short and long-term deliverables to be announced soon.